Cloud computing is gaining popularity and requiring more qualified security professionals. Although many businesses have skilled operations and security professionals, their knowledge of traditional data centers is not sufficient to deal with the unique challenges and features that cloud computing presents.

The (ISC)2 teamed up with the Cloud Security Alliance to create the Certified Cloud Security Professional certification (CCSP). This certifies cloud security professionals’ skills and knowledge, and also provides the education necessary to provide adequate cloud security.
The CCSP Common Body of Knowledge, (CBK), covers a wide range of topics that can be applied to all aspects of cloud security. The CCSP exam covers six domains:

Domain 1: Cloud Concepts, Architecture and Design (17%)
Domain 2: Cloud Data Security (19%)
Domain 3: Cloud Platform Security and Infrastructure Security (17%)
Domain 4: Cloud Application Security (17%)
Domain 5: Cloud Security Operations (17%)
Domain 6: Legal, Compliance, and Risk (13%)
This article will discuss CCSP Domain 4 Cloud Application Security and what candidates can expect when they prepare for the exam.
Cloud Application Security
Cloud environments and cloud technologies are gaining popularity due to their flexibility and low cost. Cloud environments are much more cost-effective than traditional data centers and reduce the lead time and costs involved in procuring environments or testing servers. Cloud environments provide developers with incredible efficiency and speed in creating online environments and virtual machines. Additionally, costs are not incurred until they are operational. The fourth domain of CCSP is cloud application security. Cloud security professionals need to have a solid understanding of cloud-based applications, software development and deployment challenges, and Identity and Access Management solutions. It carries the 17% weightage, and covers the following topics.
Promote Awareness and Training in Application Security
Describe the Secure Software Development Life Cycle Process (SDLC).
Secure Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC).
Cloud Software Validation and Assurance
Use Verified Secure Software
Learn the Details of Cloud Application Architecture
Design appropriate Identity and Access Management (IAM), Solutions
To get a detailed understanding of the CCSP 4th Domain Exam outline, you can watch the video below:

Below is a description of the four domains of CCSP and what you can expect to see on the CCSP certification exam.
Promote Awareness and Training in Application Security
The fourth domain of CCSP certification is training and awareness about application security. Cloud application development is gaining popularity and acceptance. An organization must have a well-educated professional to make informed decisions about cloud computing. When new development methods are introduced, training is often required. This applies to cloud computing too. Cloud Security Professionals and Developers must be well-informed about the realities of cloud environments and what is required to secure them. They also need to be aware of the common vulnerabilities and risks that cloud environments face in order to use cloud development effectively, especially with security in mind.
Describe the Secure Software Development Lifecycle (SDLC) Process
Domain 4 of CCSP examines the Software Development Life Cycle in the Cloud (SDLC), including an in-depth analysis at each step, what it consists, business requirements and the critical components that need to be addressed before we move onto the next stage.