Professionals are increasingly seeking certifications as Certified Cloud Security Professional (CCSP), and Certificate of Cloud Security Knowledge(CCSK) credentials. These certifications are the best to validate one’s knowledge and skills in Cloud security. Both CCSP (and CCSK) are getting a lot attention and offer high-paying jobs, so it can be difficult for aspirants to choose the one that suits their needs. This blog will provide an impartial comparison between CCSP & CCSK that I hope will help you choose the right certification to advance your career.

CCSP and CCSK were introduced for two different purposes. Let’s take a closer look at each one and learn more about the benefits of CCSP or CCSK certifications.
Certificate of Cloud Security Knowledge (CCSK).
What is CCSK?
CIO Magazine describes CCSK as “the mother of all cloud computing security certificates.” It is a popular choice for professionals who want to upgrade their skills in cloud security and accelerate their careers. This web-based exam validates an individual’s knowledge in key cloud security topics. This certification validates the knowledge side of the aspirant. It is no surprise that CCSK was chosen as the best.
Certification Magazine – IT certification based on average salary
What is CCSP?
In 2015, Cloud Security Alliance (CSA), and ISC2 jointly launched Certified Cloud Security Professional (CCSP). This certification tests the knowledge and practical experience of aspirants. CCSP provides a comprehensive professional concept in the field of Cloud Security. It is widely accepted and professionals with CCSP are highly sought after, just like CCSK.
We sometimes mistakenly consider CCSP or CCSK to be competitive certifications due to their similarity in Cloud Security. However, they complement each other.
The main differences between the certifications are:
Knowledge is required: To obtain CCSK, one must be familiar with CSA Guidance.
CSA Cloud Control Matrix
ENISA document
To be certified as a CCSP professional, you need to have a lot of knowledge beyond the documents mentioned. There is also a syllabus that covers practical experience.
Experience is required
CCSK does not require any experience. To obtain this certification, one must pass an objective type exam and have a good knowledge of the two key documents.
Only professionals with at least 5 years of relevant experience are eligible for CCSP. CCSP states that the minimum experience required is five years of full-time, salaried, cumulative information technology experience, which includes at least three years of information security and one year of cloud computing.
Exam Format
CCSK focuses on testing knowledge and follows an objective type exam with multiple choice answers.
The CCSP focuses on both practical and theoretical knowledge based on experience. Exam has both objective and problem-solving questions.
Exam Cost:
CCSP costs $699 USD, while CCSK exam costs $395
Maintenance of certification:
CCSK does not have a hard and fast rule or annual fees to maintain certification.
CCSP, like other ISC2 certifications, has an annual maintenance fee.
We observe that Cloud Security is a popular choice for newcomers, and CCSK is a good option for IT professionals who have been working in this field for a while. InfosecTrain’s official website has more information about these certifications. They offer both online and onsite training for CCSP/CCSK. Get enrolled now by checking out their most recent schedule.